Image

Proverbs 31:26-27 “She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue. She looks well to the ways of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.” Proverbs 22:6 “Train up a child in the way he/she should go; even when he/she is old he/she will not depart from it.”

It is every mothers hope that they will raise their child the right way. As a mother I am terrified that I may be doing something wrong. Every night I take my 3 month old daughter up to our room, I read her a bible story or two and then I pray with her. Even though she is so young I want to speak positive things into her life. I want to get a jump start on raising her in the way I feel the Lord wants her to go. It’s very scary knowing that a lot of the way your child is when they grow up could be a reflection in the way you raised them.

Of course, you can only do so much before they are on their own and make their own choices. Ultimately, it is up to them to decide whether or not they want to follow your teaching or go astray from it. I can only pray that God gives me the wisdom to raise her right and to know what to do when I have to correct her wrong behaviors.

When I read Proverbs 31:26-27 I find that I want to speak towards my child with kindness and wisdom. I don’t want to give in and use harsh tones towards my daughter. That will only hurt her and hurt our relationship in the future. I don’t want to give in to the ways of the world and abuse or speak harshly to my daughter. This helps remind me of how God wants me to be as a mother to my child.

Proverbs 22:6 gives me peace. It states that if I raise my daughter in the way she needs to go, she will not depart from it when she grows up. So I have faith that if I continue to speak gently towards my daughter and if I continue to speak the word of God into her life and then correct her when she needs to be, then I will not have to worry because she will not depart from it.

